The Commissioners include a range of people, academics, health professionals and people with lived experience of bipolar

Project Board

  • Professor Guy Goodwin – Co-chair
  • Dr Clare Dolman* – Co-chair
  • Professor Allan Young - Bipolar UK Trustee
  • Professor Ian Jones - Field researcher for the Commission
  • Simon Kitchen - CEO, Bipolar UK  and Project Sponsor
  • Anna Graham – Bipolar UK and Project Manager


  • Professor Guy Goodwin - Emeritus Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Oxford
  • Professor Femi Oyebode - Psychiatrist, University of Birmingham
  • Professor Paul McCrone – Professor of Healthcare Economics at Greenwich University
  • Paul Bristow MP – MP for Peterborough (Member of the Health and Social Care Select Committee)
  • Dr Thomas Richardson* - Clinical Psychologist in the NHS and Visiting Lecturer and Researcher at the University of Southampton
  • Dr Trudi Seneviratne, OBE – Consultant Adult/Perinatal Psychiatrist, Clinical Director South London & Maudsley NHS, Registrar Royal College Of Psychiatrists

Lived experience

  • Mohini Morris - Bipolar UK Trustee
  • Luyando Malawo – online influencer
  • Leah Milner – freelance financial journalist
  • Natasha Naomi Rea – actress and author
  • April Kelley – actress and producer
  • Nicky Chinn – songwriter and record producer
  • Suky Singh –  psychology student and Bipolar UK Support Group Co-facilitator, Birmingham
  • Olivia Hewitt – student in media, culture and communications
  • Jackie Dix – freelance researcher

* with lived experience